Question about discretize()

The engine.
Post Reply
Tiranous
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 12:16 am

Question about discretize()

Post by Tiranous »

I am currently trying to use the discretize() method to discretize my data set. What do the numbers in the double[] represent? How do I convert a non-discretized node into a discretized node?
shooltz[BayesFusion]
Site Admin
Posts: 1417
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 5:51 pm

Re: Question about discretize()

Post by shooltz[BayesFusion] »

What do the numbers in the double[] represent?
These are the interval boundaries.
How do I convert a non-discretized node into a discretized node?
Node as in node in the network or rather a variable in the dataset?
Tiranous
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 12:16 am

Re: Question about discretize()

Post by Tiranous »

shooltz wrote:
What do the numbers in the double[] represent?
These are the interval boundaries.
That is what I was thinking, but the gui discretize boundries through the program doesn't match with the results of this.
How do I convert a non-discretized node into a discretized node?
Node as in node in the network or rather a variable in the dataset?
I think variable in the dataset, here I am trying to convert file file1 (as a csv) into
file2 (as a csv).
Attachments
file2.txt
the desired outcome done through discretize
(76.77 KiB) Downloaded 346 times
file1.txt
The original file
(23.07 KiB) Downloaded 330 times
shooltz[BayesFusion]
Site Admin
Posts: 1417
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 5:51 pm

Re: Question about discretize()

Post by shooltz[BayesFusion] »

That is what I was thinking, but the gui discretize boundries through the program doesn't match with the results of this.
Are you sure you're using the same discretization algorithm and bin count?
Tiranous
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 12:16 am

Re: Question about discretize()

Post by Tiranous »

I figured out that the mismatch in data was due to the fact that when I used the GUI I highlighted all the variables and discretized them all at the same time. I assume this led the program to discretize them all together rather then separately as I thought it would work. Is there a way to discretize multiple variables together using the discretize method?
shooltz[BayesFusion]
Site Admin
Posts: 1417
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 5:51 pm

Re: Question about discretize()

Post by shooltz[BayesFusion] »

Tiranous wrote: Is there a way to discretize multiple variables together using the discretize method?
No. You'll need to invoke discretize() for each variable separately.
Post Reply