Discretize network in Genie 4.0

The front end.
Post Reply
sverrevr
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2020 7:37 am

Discretize network in Genie 4.0

Post by sverrevr »

Hi, I can't seem to find the button for making a discretized version of the equation based/hybrid model in Genie 4.0?
I'm thinking about the button that opens a new file where all nodes are discretized.

Best regards
Sverre
sverrevr
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2020 7:37 am

Re: Discretize network in Genie 4.0

Post by sverrevr »

Aha! Is it correct that in the new version you can simply change nodes from equation to chance and it will be correctly discretized?
shooltz[BayesFusion]
Site Admin
Posts: 1346
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 5:51 pm

Re: Discretize network in Genie 4.0

Post by shooltz[BayesFusion] »

We have modified the code for solving hybrid models the discretization is required. We no longer create a separate copy of the network with discrete nodes (which you could previously inspect with the Discretize command). Instead, the discretized CPTs are created on demand, and evidence in parents is taken into account.

You can still view the discretized CPTs (if available) through equation node's Discretization property page.
sverrevr
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2020 7:37 am

Re: Discretize network in Genie 4.0

Post by sverrevr »

The feature I was looking for was to discretize the network once, and then use the discretized network in an online application interfacing the SMILE library. But it worked to simply change all nodes to chance nodes :)
Post Reply