Learn new network based on the strengths of relationships derived from a survey

The front end.
Jessyboeters

Learn new network based on the strengths of relationships derived from a survey

Post by Jessyboeters »

Hello,

I'm new to GeNIe and have a problem in developing a BBN for my graduation project.

I want to use GeNIe for developing a BBN of factors causing delays. For my graduation project, I completed a survey where I found cause-effect relationships between 20 factors because experts assessed the relationships between factors through a matrix table (o no relationship; 1 weak relationship; 2 strong relationship; 4 very strong relationship). With SPSS (statistical analysis), I can calculate the average of the strengths of the relationships and the skewness (the measure of the asymmetry of the probability distribution) of the relationship. With the average and skewness, I tested the results with logical rules what resulted in 108 strong cause-effect relationships between factors (there are relationships accepted in both directions). An example is attached to this post.

This is by far too many relationships to make an optimal BBN by hand. I want to use the requirement that one factor has a maximum of 4 arrows to other factors (max parent count). My question is can I develop an optimal BBN based on the average strength of the relationships (in a datasheet) that I found in my survey based on an algorithm in GeNIe (Learn new Network)?

Please let me know if this is possible

Kind regards,

PS The next step of my graduation project after developing a BBN is finding the probabilities of the factors by another survey.
Attachments
Example problem.xlsx
(9.96 KiB) Downloaded 339 times
marek [BayesFusion]
Site Admin

Re: Learn new network based on the strengths of relationships derived from a survey

Post by marek [BayesFusion] »